Home   Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage

Setting the standards with EYFS

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early year’s providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

7 areas of learning

Three prime areas
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
Specific areas
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive arts and design